Fitness

Tips For Finals

This past year was my first year away from home, at a university where I came in not knowing anyone. I needed to meet people, adjust to college, adjust to being away from home and learn about myself. The one thing that had not changed during this transition was my fitness. I was still always into my workouts, if not even more into them since they became my #1 way of de-stressing.

I talk to a lot of people that claim to pick up bad lifestyle habits once finals roll around. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t develop them either. You sleep less during the night to study and more during the day after class, you grab quick junk snacks while you’re on the go or you may even be too busy to remember to eat. You sit down and exercise your mind more than your body and you become a little less social during these dark weeks as us college students call them. Although it may only be for a few weeks out of the year, this damage done can set you back on your fitness journey or even make you sick. I haven’t figured out all the tips and tricks yet, but here are some I’ve picked up this year.

  1. Sleep is important. Your mind will not retain information taken in after long, tedious hours. You need sleep to refuel your mind to help remember the information learned. Don’t pull all nighters because chances are that information will go in one ear and out the other. Get a proficient amount of sleep, you will feel better.
  2. Make it a point to drink a glass of water as soon as you wake up. This gets your metabolism going and wakes your body up especially if you won’t be making it to the gym that day. Your metabolism needs to be kick started and this is one of the best ways to do it.
  3. If your buying food, buy a little more and box it up for when you might not have time to go get some. I always buy foot-long sandwiches at Subway, eat half and save the other half for later. It’s *almost* like meal prepping if you wanna think of it that way lol!
  4. Be conscious of your snacks! Snacking while studying is common, just make sure its something that is beneficial. Nuts, whole grains, apples and dark chocolate all improve study habits and increase memory. They include antioxidants, essential fatty acids and increase blood flow to the brain.
  5. Try to get in a workout. Yes a 10 minute walk on the treadmill counts. Just break a sweat. You feel accomplished and refreshed when you know you’ve done good for yourself. Stretching included
  6. Plan out your day. One of my favorite things to do is write down a schedule for my day and add a to do list. Crossing off everything and knowing you’re making the most of your day is the best feeling.

 

Remember: you will get through this! Finals suck but soon enough it will be summer and you won’t have to worry about tests and homework and credits and everything else! You got this!!

 

img_7766

Leave a Reply

